Essex County DWI / DUI Defense Attorney
Have you been arrested for drunk driving in New Jersey? If so, you face serious potential consequences, even for a first offense. The State of New Jersey, Division of Criminal Justice put together a detailed Table of Penalties describing what you face (NOTE: This table has NOT been updated to reflect the changes in the law, effective 12/1/2019). At the Newark Law Offices of Kevin Crawford Orr, we provide aggressive DWI defense for clients throughout Northern New Jersey. Whether you want to keep your license after your first offense or avoid jail after multiple offenses, we can help.
First Offense DWI / DUI (effective 12/1/2019)
The penalties depend upon whether your Blood Alchohol Content (BAC) is between 0.08% and 0.10%, or 0.10% and above. At the lower range, the penalties are:
Jail: In court's discretion, incarceration not exceeding 30 days
IDRC - a period of detainment of not less than 12 hours nor more than 48 hours spent during two consecutive days of not less than six hours each day and served as prescribed by the program requirements of the Intoxicated Driver Resource Centers
Other Penalties: VCCB $50; DDEF $100; SNSF $75; N.J.S.A. 39:4-50(i) $125.00
Quality and Responsive Legal Services
Law Offices of Kevin Crawford Orr • (973) 824-5520
There is no such thing as a temporary license in New Jersey. If you lose your license, you have lost it for the length of the suspension. Moreover, if you have been convicted of drunk driving in New Jersey, you will lose your license. An aggressive DWI defense lawyer could make all the difference in your case. We will do everything we can to help you keep your license.
Aggressive DWI Defense
If you have been charged with driving under the influence, we will do everything we can to fight your case. We conduct copious record reviews to understand all weaknesses in the State's case. We will do everything we can to challenge the way in which the State gathered the evidence. We work with experts in order to come to an accurate understanding of breathalyzer and blood test results.
If you are convicted of drunk driving, you will lose your license. It is our goal to help you keep your license, avoid fines, and prevent jail time. If you are a repeat offender, you face increased suspensions and higher consequences. A blood alcohol level of .08 is the New Jersey minimum for drunk driving cases, but as this level rises, so do the consequences you face.
The Newark Law Offices of Kevin Crawford Orr, aggressive DWI defense is available for everyone. Protect your rights and try to keep your license. Contact us today.